deadsouth
Doomchild
9 posters
AuthorMessage
Doomchild
the janitor
Doomchild

metal dj questionnaire Empty
PostSubject: metal dj questionnaire   metal dj questionnaire I_icon_minitimeMon Sep 27, 2010 8:26 am

As some of you may know I work as a dj at metal/rock clubs and I want to ask you guys to let me hear what you think about my dilemma.

The premise is pretty much that I'm sick of the fact that people only wanna hear the same shit over and over again. You might call that main stream, but when I'm frustrated I like to call that retarded.

So when you go out to a metal club or whatever, do they play the same bands again and again? Do people dance/mosh/move to the music? (For me of course that's the direct feedback). Are you under the impression that the party is lacking, if people don't dance etc.? (Remember: metal/rock party) Do only certain songs of popular bands 'work'? Because a common thing about people here is, they don't know shit about the bands they claim to like (for instance that there is at least one other song by Iron Maiden other than "Number Of The Beast"). Okay, that goes mostly for the more main stream crowd, as 'real' metal guys tend to obsess over their music (duh, I guess, or sic! :) ).

So here's a little exemplary list of the bands I'm talking about and their most popular song (over here), which people obviously wanna hear every fucking Friday sonce their release:

Metallica - Enter Sandman
Pantera - Walk
Machine Head - Davidian
Slayer - South Of Heaven
Fear Factory - Linchpin
Iron Maiden - Number Of The Beast
Danzig - Mother
Disturbed - Down With The Sickness
System Of A Down - Chop Suey
Sepultura - Ratamahatta
Dio - Holy Diver
Motörhead - Ace Of Spades
Slipknot - Wait And Bleed
Tool - Schism
Marilyn Manson - The Beautiful People
Nine Inch Nails - Closer
Rob Zombie - Dragula
Monster Magnet - Powertrip
(...)